Tutorial: Fridge Dry-Erase Board

12 Jul

Luke and I have been trying to find a solution to our grocery list for awhile. We find Post-It notes are perfect to jot down what we need and take with us as we go in and out of stores. However leaving the little sticky pieces of paper all over the fridge to write down what we need as we notice, wasn’t really working for us.

So I turned to my old friend raffia (which you might remember from the Raffia Bowl Tutorial). While I was at the Dollar Store stocking up on more raffia I found a package of three sheets of dry-erase board. There were 3 11×14” pieces. Now these were much too big to be putting on the fridge, but once I cut them in half they were perfect!

Looking at the 5 left over pieces I decided to make a frame for the dry-erase board that I could slide them in and out of. That way once one board is past its prime and no longer looking very nice I can easily replace it with another one.

I love the bright colours the board adds to my kitchen, I even made a little holder for the post-it-notes so that we never have to go searching for them. Now as we notice we are low or out of things we can quickly jot it down on the dry-erase board and when we go out to run our errands it only takes a moment to write out what we need to get on the post-it-notes.

Materials:

1. Mod Podge

2. Play-Dough

3. Raffia

4. Baloons

5. Wooden Dowels

6. Post-It Notes (for size reference).

7. Dry-Erase Boards

In case anyone uses the Post-It Note system that I do here’s the instructions on how to make the little holder for them.

Let it dry completely, you can add another coat of Mod Podge to stiffen it up. Add some magnets on the back and call it a day. Wax paper works great for drying anything covered in Mod Podge, its easy to peel off.

I didn’t cover some of the basic parts involved in using raffia in this way. If you’d like a little more direction check out the Raffia Bowl tutorial, it’ll tell you all you need to know.

Anyone else use Post-It notes for their errand runs? Different methods? What works for you?

4 Responses to “Tutorial: Fridge Dry-Erase Board”

  1. Rachel July 12, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    I love how you did the frame! Thanks so much for the doable instructions, I’ll be linking.

    • Cheyanne July 13, 2010 at 11:56 am #

      Hi Rachel, I was so happy with the finished look of the frame, glad you like it too.

  2. geek+nerd July 14, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    This project is so cute! Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving such a kind comment 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tutorial: Dollar Store Raffia Bowl « - July 12, 2010

    […] another great project tutorial using Raffia to add colour and texture to a magnetic Dry-Erase […]

Leave a Reply

