Show & Tell: Muffins Are Cute Too

27 Jun

I was recently on a hunt on google for something to do with muffins. I can’t remember exactly what I was searching for, but that’s not important. What I did find was that if you type ‘muffins are’ into google it auto populates with the expression ‘muffins are just ugly cupcakes’!

I just couldn’t let that slide. As a baker, I believe all baked goods deserve equal oppertunities. I know that cup cakes have been all in vogue for the last little while. In fact that craze is still going strong up here in Canada (we are a little behind). And I think it’s only fair that we give muffins their own fair shake at inducing little moments filled to the brim with cuteness.

All it takes is a little creativity on our part. That and a pop-over pan and some fondant.

There is my favorite recipe for Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins. This is from a book I’ve been carting around with me since I was a kid. This recipe is one of Luke’s more frequent requests. Of course I’ve tweaked the recipe here and there over the years.

Fill up the pop-over pans to the top. About 1/2 a cup.

Bake them off and they turn out the perfect shape to add cute little fondant accents to.

I dare anyone who sees these to ever say that muffins are just ugly cupcakes.


Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses to “Show & Tell: Muffins Are Cute Too”

  1. meaghan (the decorated cookie) August 17, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    aDORable! Such a cute idea to give muffins their due. I posted a link on EdibleCrafts.CraftGossip.com 🙂

  2. Sasha @ The Procrastobaker August 18, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    This is just lovely! I quite agree, muffins ARE cute too, in fact i may be judged for this but give me a triple chocolate chunk muffin over a cupcake annnyyy day! This looks like a lovely recipe too, great post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

