Show & Tell: Strawberry Shortcake Cookie Cups

21 Jun

After I picked and pureed the strawberries from my local pick-your-own berry farm I was dying to enjoy the flavor of summer. Luke and I had already gorged on our fill of fresh berries and I decided to get my bake on.

I followed the same steps to make the shortbread cookie cups as I did for the chocolate chip cookie cups but using my shortbread recipe.

The cookie cups have been my most popular post, and I thought I’d share a trick I use to get them looking their best.

The cookies tend to brown quicker on the very top and they are never perfectly flat. So I use my microplane grater to gently sand them down.

I also give the bottom a light sanding to ensure that the cup will sit flat and steady on the plate.

I used a strawberry mouse to fill the shortbread cookie cups. With the puree we made in the FYI: Strawberry Freezing, Pureeing and Jamming it’s simple and quick.

First make a quick Cream Chantilly:

1 cup Heavy Whipping Cream

1 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract

1/4-1/3 Cup Powdered Sugar

Whip the cream, extract and sugar together to a soft peek.

Now gently fold in about 1/3 cup of cold strawberry puree. Whip again slightly until it firms up a little.

This is a ‘to taste’ thing. Add more or less sugar depending on how sweet your berries were or how sweet your palate is.

Fill your shortbread cookie cups and top with fresh strawberries.

Would you judge me if I told you that I ate this for breakfast? Strawberries are good for you right?

The end of my very first month of blogging is coming up!

Off the List is going to officially be one month old and to celebrate I’m going to be giving one lucky winner their very own mold to make these amazing cookie cups.

All you have to do is subscribe to Off the List and leave me  a comment on any post before July 1st. I’ll have a winner picked at random and in no time you could be making these great, simple desserts yourself.


Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

5 Responses to “Show & Tell: Strawberry Shortcake Cookie Cups”

  1. Shai June 23, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    Hello, Cheyanne!
    I’ve *just* run across your page. The strawberries are making my tummy growl and, daring to make these for my family, puts a grin on my face!
    Strawberries are perfect for any and all meals, even with a little sugar added ;o) So there. I agree with you 🙂

    • Cheyanne June 23, 2010 at 11:51 am #

      Hi Shai, I’m so glad you came by. Strawberries are so amazing when they are fresh and in season. I think I might actually head back this weekend to pick some more. Luke should be game, it means more baked goodies for him lol. Let me know how your family likes them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. FYI: Strawberry Freezing, Pureeing and Jamming. « - June 21, 2010

    […] ways you can use that puree to add amazing flavor, chemical and preservative free, to whip up an impressive dessert (in a cookie cup!) Plus details on Off the List’s one month of blogging […]

  2. Tutorial: Ice Cream Cookie Cups « - June 21, 2010

    […] Show & Tell: Strawberry Shortcake Cookie Cups includes tips to make your cookie cups look the best they can and a great (and easy) strawberry […]

  3. FYI: Gum Paste Carnations « - June 23, 2010

    […] As promised, we’re going to get back to our FYI: Gum Paste series now that we know everything we need to do harvest, jam, puree and freeze local strawberries. Don`t forget the newest Cookie Cup: S […]

Leave a Reply

