Tutorial: Nap Time Blanket

18 Jun

I’m a napper. I believe that naps are the key to happiness, energy and immortality.  When I first started living with Luke he would suggest that I go to the bed to nap, instead of taking up the whole couch. I quickly set him straight; going to the bedroom would mean I was going to sleep, staying on the couch meant I was taking a nap. Yes even at 1 in the morning.

After being an eye witness to the awesomeness of my naps for a few years Luke started to pick up the habit himself. Unfortunately the one nap blanket we keep on the couch was very short. I’m 5 foot 2 and even I find that my toes become exposed if I’m not curled up just right. So after we set up my craft room (a birthday gift from Luke) and I no longer ran in fear at the sight of my sewing machine Luke asked if I could make him a nap time blanket.

So we picked up some fleece, which is the same material as my nap time blanket. I find it breathes in the heat and keeps you warm in the cold. I took a look at the original blanket and noticed that the corners are rounded. This spoke to my inner hatred of mitering of any kind (I had a traumatizing experience with trying to miter some baseboard trim) and decided to copy the detail.

Materials and Tools:

  • Fleece Fabric- 2 Yards (this was the perfect height and width, no cutting or scrap)
  • Quilt Binding or Double Fold Bias Tape- 9 Yards
  • Fabric for Lettering
  • Thread
  • Heat n Bond Iron on Adhesive
  • Scissors/Rotary Cutter and Mat
  • Sewing Machine
  • Iron
  • Ironing Board
  • Pins

I love the word detail. I think I just might have to give the same treatment to the original nap blanket, maybe even add a Mr. and Mrs.

Ignore the paint on my hands in the pics, I’m in the middle of a couple of projects (arn’t we all). Oh and anyone who laughs at my consistently imperfect stitching gets their nap time rights revoked. As the Queen of Napping I can do that.

Here are the pattern for the words, all inversed and ready to go. Just for you, from me. Feeling the love?

It feels so good to have tackled a second session of sewing (ahahaha oh accidental alliteration). And I love that I can now say that this project is officially Off the List.


Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Responses to “Tutorial: Nap Time Blanket”

  1. Rachel June 23, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    Aww, this is so sweet! Thanks so much for the how-to, I’ll be linking.

    • Cheyanne June 23, 2010 at 11:54 am #

      Thanks Rachel, it’s already getting good use. Somehow Mason and Roxy (the pups) seem to end up using it almost as much as Luke.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On the List: Blogging Tips to Puppy Drips « - June 20, 2010

    […] how I can make Off the List a little more legit and maybe (just maybe)  increase traffic. My second sewing project has me looking to learn professional tricks and techniques. And as always I’m looking for […]

Leave a Reply

