Tutorial: Ice Cream Cookie Cups

5 Jun

Here’s a quick tutorial on how to transform a childhood favorite into a dinner party worthy dessert. I’m talking about Cookies and Cream for grown ups.

Start with your favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe.  Here’s my personal go-to recipe:

1. Instead of baking the cookies as normal, press the dough into a Mini Wonder Mold Pan or a ball pan. I picked mine up from Michael’s a while ago.  I was actually looking for a ball pan at the time and this was all they had. But one project’s trash is another project’s treasure. The shape is perfect for our Cookie Cups.

2. You want to get as thin a layer of cookie dough as possible. It will expand a lot when it bakes. Add a little extra dough to the bottom for reinforcement.

3. Bake them for 10 minutes at 325f. Take them out and press the dough against the sides of the pans with a spoon. Return to oven and bake 10 more minutes. The outside of the bowls should be golden brown. Turn the oven to broil, place the cups back in for a few minutes (watch closely) just until the inside of the cups start to turn golden. Remove from oven and cool.

4. Fill with ice cream and enjoy!

You can call it  a day there. Or, if you are really looking for a wow factor, you can go ahead and take it a step further.

I dipped the bottoms of mine in melted chocolate and hand painted on a couple of edible silver polka dots (I talk more about silver luster dust and other sugar tools here).  The little decorations on the top behind the berries are actually miniature chocolate chip cookies that I gave the same treatment to. It might have taken me an extra 10 minutes, but it added a whole lot to the presentation.

I can’t wait to try this with other types of dough.

Shortbread?

Filled with strawberries and whipped cream?…..

Update: Show & Tell: Strawberry Shortcake Cookie Cups includes tips to make your cookie cups look the best they can and a great (and easy) strawberry mouse recipe. Plus details on a give away for the mold to make these great desserts!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 Responses to “Tutorial: Ice Cream Cookie Cups”

  1. Rachel June 7, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Those look amazing! I’ll have to come up with an excuse to make them soon. =) Thanks so much for the details, I’ll be linking.

    • checkitoffthelist June 8, 2010 at 8:53 am #

      Hi Rachel, thanks for the comment. They are as fun to eat as they are to make.

  2. Simply Sara June 9, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    Love these! I’ll definitely be making them too 🙂
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • checkitoffthelist June 10, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

      Thanks Sara, you have such beautiful photography, if you make them you’ll have to take some pictures so I can see how amazing they look in the right photographers hands.

  3. Elizabeth June 13, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    I’m pretty sure I’m not hungry, but all of the sudden all I can think about is eating a cookie cup filled with ice cream. Thanks a lot! 😉

    • checkitoffthelist June 14, 2010 at 11:27 am #

      I do what I can to spread the craving of sweets! (that way it’s not only me). 😀

  4. lugie December 28, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    huhu must try!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Show & Tell: Strawberry Shortcake Cookie Cups « - June 21, 2010

    […] followed the same steps to make the shortbread cookie cups as I did for the chocolate chip cookie cups but using my shortbread […]

Leave a Reply

